Durban 2010 Stadium on track

May 6, 2007

One of the local Durban newspapers ran an interesting article the other day regarding construction progress at the new ‘Moses Madhiba Stadium’, currently being built on the site of the old Kings Park soccer stadium. The main gist of the piece was that the construction progress is pretty much on schedule and expected to be complete as planned in 2009.  I drive past the site every day on my way to and from work, and it is certainly a hive of activity. All the piling and diaphragm walling is complete, as are the two anchors for the main roof arch.  Here are a couple of pictures that I took whilst at the Sharks Super 14 rugby game on Saturday (the Sharks ground is opposite the new stadium site). 

Durban New Stadium Construction 1 May 07Durban New Stadium Construction 1 May 07

I also stumbled across a document entitled ‘Portfolio Committee on Sport & Recreation 23rd January 2007 – Presentation by Ms Julie-May Ellingson (Head: Strategic Projects Unit & 2010 Programme)’ on the local municipality’s website.  As well as an update on progress to date for the Durban 2010 stadium, it includes some other insights into infrastructure improvements that will form part of the 2010 preparations.  It has some great artist impressions of what the new stadium will look like. 

New Durban Stadium - View 1Durban Stadium View 2Durban Stadium View 3

An interesting fact to emerge from the document is the cost per seat for the new stadium.  Based on ‘Franklin and Andrews’ benchmarking figures, the typical cost of a 70000 seat stadium is GBP 210m, or GBP 3000/seat.  The cost for the Durban stadium is GBP 182m, or GBP 2600/seat.  This looks like a good deal when you consider the iconic status of the under-construction stadium.

You can see the full document here.

28 Responses to “Durban 2010 Stadium on track”

  1. Nyasha Says:

    You have just shown great progresss in your work thumbs for the Entire South African popullation. We hope to be there in the Great Stadias that is bieng built supporting our greatest and most wonderfull game soccer. we shall all stand behind the African teams this is our time to take what belongs to us. I’m here in Zimbabwe we all hope to be there and only when the dictator currently running our country retires help us good people. Thank Yuo

  2. Holly T Says:

    Hello…

    Not what I was looking for, but great site. Thanks….


  3. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote
    the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few
    pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.


  4. Excellent, what a webpage it is! This web site gives valuable facts to us, keep it up.


  5. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Many thanks, However I am having issues with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I can’t subscribe
    to it. Is there anybody else having the same RSS problems?

    Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!


  6. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is an extremely smartly written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

  7. hemorroides Says:

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you, However I am encountering problems with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having the same RSS problems? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!


  8. Appreciation to my father who told me about this blog,
    this blog is actually awesome.

  9. Neil Says:

    Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice even as you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a applicable deal.
    I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered
    vivid clear idea

  10. hemorroides Says:

    Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your post. I wanted to write
    a little comment to support you.


  11. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our
    whole community will be thankful to you.

  12. chatroulette Says:

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!


  13. Hi there, I enjoy reading through your article. I wanted to write
    a little comment to support you.

  14. chatroulette Says:

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for
    intonate


  15. Hello, this weekend is fastidious in favor of me, because this
    time i am reading this enormous educational article here at my house.


  16. Thank you for every other magnificent post. The place else could anybody
    get that type of info in such a perfect way of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such information.


  17. I visited many websites but the audio quality for audio songs present at this website is genuinely superb.


  18. Amazing! Its in fact awesome article, I have got much clear idea concerning from this paragraph.

  19. hemorroides Says:

    If some one needs to be updated with newest technologies afterward he must be
    go to see this website and be up to date every day.

  20. nagelpilz Says:

    What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon
    this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & help different customers like its aided me. Good job.


  21. Wonderful, what a webpage it is! This weblog presents valuable
    data to us, keep it up.


  22. Hi all, here every person is sharing these knowledge, thus it’s pleasant to read this blog, and I used to go to see this blog daily.


  23. I used to be able to find good information from your
    blog articles.

  24. Elvis Says:

    Hello There. I discovered your weblog the use of msn.
    That is a very well written article. I will be
    sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your helpful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.


  25. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyhow, good blog!

  26. chatroulette Says:

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always useful to read content from other writers and practice something from their web sites.


  27. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that
    service? Many thanks!

  28. Halley Says:

    Skype has opened up its online-structured buyer beta towards the
    world, after starting it generally within the United states and You.K.

    earlier this month. Skype for Web also now facilitates Linux and Chromebook for instant messaging interaction (no voice and video however, all those
    call for a connect-in set up).

    The expansion in the beta provides support for an extended selection of spoken languages to aid bolster that international user friendliness


Leave a Reply

